Behold Thy Crown!

“Grandchildren are the crown of old men…” (Pro. 17:6)

In 2022, my wife, Susanne, and I were blessed to have our four oldest grandchildren for a weekend. We decided to take them to watch the Civil War re-enactment of “The Battle for the Texas Hospital.” It was very good. Of course, having children there, the food truck was the main attraction–they love to eat.  

Grace, our oldest granddaughter is full of life and tough as nails. She decided to set down and play on the ground. Because she is no longer in training diapers, and the previous day it had rained, she could feel the moisture soaking through her clothes and wetting her bottom. So, being the Southern Princess that she is, she grabbed her pants and panties and pulled them down to her thighs, ‘mooning’ the entire battle field and hordes of people at the food stand. I hadn’t seen a moon presented that clear since my senior year in high school. (But that’s another story!) We quickly helped her recover her dignity, and used the moment to give further instruction about social protocol. It was hilarious, and the innocence of a child is refreshing. It felt as if the Lord was laughing and saying, “Behold thy crown.”

Eli, our youngest grandson, loved the battle. However, right in the middle of the most intense part of cannon fire and close combat, some thing happened. I was standing and locked into the re-enactment, then one of my sons elbowed me and pointed down toward my feet. When I looked down, I saw my young Eli reaching with his hands straight up wanting his Pop. The battle no longer mattered… there was a higher calling. So, I grabbed my young man and held him tight as we talked about the day. With his gentle touch and big smile, he loved on me and I loved on him. It felt as if the Lord was whispering, “Behold thy crown!”

Ledger, our second oldest grandson, who is an active, ball-tossing, rough-house, wrecking machine, found a time that he decided to crawl up in my arms while I was in the recliner back home. I whispered to him how much I loved him. Then, with his deep voice that seemed to come out of nowhere, a huge smile came across his face and he said, “I love you, too.” My heart melted as I felt we connected in a special way. Again, the Holy Spirit softly spoke, “Behold thy crown!”

Jagger, our oldest grandson was 5 years old at the time. He jumped with joy every time he beat me playing the Mario Kart video game. After each victory celebration, he hung on to me like a hand in a glove. The night before they left, he walked up to me, grabbed my hand and kissed it. Then, looking at me with his big old eyes, he said. “I am going to miss you, Pop.” Tuesday morning, Jagger broke down crying, not wanting to leave. I picked him up and carried him out to his car. His tears wet my shirt as he buried his head into my shoulder. I held him as long as possible. I told him that I know how he feels, and that I love him so much. He said, “I love you, Pop. Please come see me and stay for 6 days,” as he held up 7 fingers. I told him to follow Jesus with all his heart and that goodbyes will end one day. This time the Lord shouted to my heart, “Behold thy crown!”

As they drove off, the silence of the house was met by the moisture of my eyes. It seems it is always the smallest things in life that teach us the largest truths. I missed many of these moments when my boys were young–I was too busy trying to make a living rather than having a life. But I’m not going to miss these with my grandchildren. By His grace, the Lord has slowed me down. And as the Lord gradually paints my hair with gray, I am no longer even faintly looking to the world for any grand achievement–my grandchildren are the crown of my old age. 

I will constantly tell them the truth of Jesus–the Lion of Judah! In fact, I have taught all of them how to roar like a lion. Because one day, whenever they lay me in the ground, I have one request I have shared with the family. When the service is closed, I want all my grandchildren to stand by my casket and roar like a lion together. I can’t think of a better sendoff. And perhaps, at the moment they roar and I am standing in the presence of my Lord and Savior, Jesus will look at me and say… “Behold Thy Crown!”


*****

If you would like to say “Thank You” and/or support this blog, feel free to buy me a cup of coffee. Simply click on the banner below and it will take you to a page where you can do so, if you wish. It is safe and secure. Thanks and God bless…

4 thoughts on “Behold Thy Crown!

  1. SYLVIA SYKES

    Terry, What talent for writing God has given you! This one almost brought me to tears because my grands are now grown men and women, and my greatest days of influence are past! However, I still have that prayer line open for them to my Lord! Keep us the good grandparenting and writing. Sylvia

    >

Leave a comment